Advanced Fantasy Map-Making: World-Building

Advanced Fantasy Map-Making: World-Building

In a continuation of the Fantasy Map-Making class, learn more advanced techniques in map-making while collaboratively building a storyline for a fantasy world. Drawn, relief, and printed maps will be explored with more complexity, and new methods, including digital maps, will be introduced.

This class also includes an array of writing prompts to guide your learner’s crafting of story and connect their ideas to their maps. The class will finish with a group project featuring a collection of maps and stories based on a world we create together, and all students will be sent a physical copy of this project along with book-binding materials and instructions. This is a deeply collaborative and tactile class that uses imagination, creativity, and critical thinking!

Note: Fantasy Map-Making is a prerequisite to this class!

What Makes SEA Online Classes Special

Class Duration:

Session 1:
February 8-March 15

Session 2:
April 26-June 1

Class Size: 5-12 learners

Age Range: 10 and up

Total Price: $175

In a continuation of the Fantasy Map-Making class, learn more advanced techniques in map-making while collaboratively building a storyline for a fantasy world.

Drawn, relief, and printed maps will be explored with more complexity, and new methods, including digital maps, will be introduced. This class also includes an array of writing assignments that guide your learner’s crafting of story and connect their ideas to their maps. All students will receive a copy of the class project.

This class also includes an array of writing prompts to guide your learner’s crafting of story and connect their ideas to their maps. The class will finish with a group project featuring a collection of maps and stories based on a world we create together, and all students will be sent a physical copy of this project along with book-binding materials and instructions. This is a deeply collaborative and tactile class that uses imagination, creativity, and critical thinking!

Note: Fantasy Map-Making is a prerequisite to this class!

Ages 10 and up (this workshop has an age limit based on the development of fine motor skills and the use of sharp tools)

Session 1:
February 8-March 15 with live meetings Mondays at 12pm Eastern/11am Central/10am Mountain/9am Pacific

Session 2:
April 26-June 1 with live meetings Mondays at 12pm Eastern/11am Central/10am Mountain/9am Pacific

Supply list with links will be provided in the Teachable classroom, but includes drawing and painting materials, and supplies for relief and printed maps. A computer camera and microphone will also be needed for discussions.

Approx. 2-4 hours per week including live meetings, but will vary depending on how many maps the learner wants to make!

Fantasy Map-Making is a prerequisite to this class.

Fine art skills (technique, materials, proportion, spatial relationships, etc.), art and cartography history, geography, storytelling, communication, book making, digital arts

Choice in map design and story, individual feedback and advice when requested. Group collaboration on class project.

See this teacher’s policies on things like refunds, missing class, and behavioral expectations. (Click here to see the policies.)

Class Full

More Classes Like this One