Befriending and Understanding Your Emotions (BeE) (Teen)

Befriending and Understanding Your Emotions (BeE) (Teen)

This class is as much about social and emotional learning (SEL) as it is about health.
Everyone has a range of emotions and no emotion is bad. In this class, we learn about what exactly emotions are, what our unique experiences of the emotions are, and what we can do to make sure we process them in a healthy way and we don’t react to them and do things we might regret.

Each week offers interactive work that is science-based and customized according to the student’s responses.

This class includes developmentally appropriate information and exercises for 13-17 year olds.

What Makes SEA Online Classes Special

Class Duration: January 20-February 24

Class Size: 4-16 learners

Age Range: 13-17

Total Price: $125
Free with Parent/Guardian Enrollment in MBSR Class

Social and emotional learning (SEL) is crucial for homeschoolers. Cultivating inner resources, being able to manage emotions and resolve conflicts, and knowing what to do to feel whole are vital skills-of-being-and-relating that few of us learn. The good news is that there are plenty of science-based activities to help us develop them.
We begin with the reality that everyone has a range of emotions and no emotion is bad. We learn how to pay attention to and identify our emotions, we name them and map them in our bodies, and figure out what we can do (as individuals) to make sure we process them in a healthy way and we don’t react to them and do things we might regret.
Each week offers interactive work that is science-based and customized according to the student’s responses.
This class can also be viewed as a health class, as it addresses the negative health effects of the maladaptive stress responses and shows kids a mindfulness-mediated stress response that will shift their nervous systems when they begin to get pushed out of regulation.
Live meetings on Wednesdays from 1-1:45pm Eastern/12-12:45pm Central/11-11:45am Mountain/10-10:45am Pacific.
Webcam, microphone, access to printer for a few pages
Ten minutes per day outside of class
Understand and be able to identify emotions; understand what the stress response is and how they as individuals respond to stress; learn adaptive ways to respond to stress; deep listening; focused attention
One-on-one time with any parent or child who needs it
If your child is in therapy, please check with the therapist first. Tell them that the content is based on Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction (MBSR) and I am a teacher qualified by Brown University and that I am Mindful Schools-certified.

Learn more about this teacher’s classroom, refund, and behavioral policies. (See policies here).

More Classes Like this One