Fantasy Map-Making Workshop Spring 2021

Fantasy Map-Making Workshop (Spring 2021)

For kids who love fantasy, maps, art, and making! Join Samantha Matalone Cook, MAT for a hands-on workshop to explore hand-drawn, relief, and printed maps. Examples of maps from literature, science, and media will be explored, both within the fantasy genre and the real historical maps they are inspired from. The four sessions will also include discussions on storytelling and design, map-making techniques, and using a variety of materials. This is a fun and engaging class that encourages personal creativity and skill-building!

Note: If you have multiple students who would like to take this class and one of them is younger than 10, please contact the teacher so accommodations can be made with the materials.

What Makes SEA Online Classes Special

Class Duration:

Session 1- January 11-February 1
Session 2- March 29-April 19

Class Size: 5-12 learners

Age Range: 10 and up

Total Price: $100

For kids who love fantasy, maps, art, and making! Join Samantha Matalone Cook, MAT for a hands-on workshop to explore hand-drawn, relief, and printed maps. Examples of maps from literature, science, and media will be explored, both within the fantasy genre and the real historical maps they are inspired from. The four sessions will also include discussions on storytelling and design, map-making techniques, and using a variety of materials. This is a fun and engaging class that encourages personal creativity and skill-building!

List of materials needed will be provided. I’ve given this class a small discount since you will need to provide your own materials.

Fantasy Map-Making is for ages 10 and up (this workshop has an age limit based on the development of fine motor skills and the use of sharp tools)

Note: If you have multiple students who would like to take this class and one of them is younger than 10, please contact the teacher so accommodations can be made with the materials.

Session 1-
January 11-February 1 with meetings on Mondays at 12pm Eastern/11am Central/10am Mountain/9am Pacific

Session 2-
March 29-April 29 with meetings on Mondays at 12pm Eastern/11am Central/10am Mountain/9am Pacific

Supply list with links will be provided in the Teachable classroom, but includes drawing and painting materials, and supplies for relief and printed maps. A computer camera and microphone will also be needed for discussions.

Approx. 2-4 hours per week including live meetings, but will vary depending on how many maps the learner wants to make!

The desire to take an online class and an interest in the topic!

Fine art skills (technique, materials, proportion, spatial relationships, etc.), art and cartography history, geography, storytelling, communication

Choice in map design and story, individual feedback and advice when requested

See this teacher’s policies on things like refunds, missing class, and behavioral expectations. (Click here to see the policies.)

More Classes Like this One