High School Research Boot Camp

High School Research Boot Camp

Critical thinking, analyzation, and resource management are all essential skills for any learner.

In High School Research Boot Camp, we’ll be focused on how to research accurately and efficiently using the plethora of resources available, how to identify credible sources and examine bias, and use this knowledge to dive deeply into the subjects we are passionate about.

There are three Level of the Research Boot Camp

The Middle School Research Boot camp will cover the basic foundation of solid research skills as well as building the knowledge students will need for high school-level work.
The High School Research Boot camp will cover and/or reinforce the basic foundation of solid research skills, and will also go into more depth on topics such as primary sources, scholarly articles and studies, expanding the scope of resources, and preparing for post-high school academic or vocational work.
The Research Boot camp for Parents covers much of the information included in the MS and HS Research Boot camps, but from the perspective of facilitation. We’ll be focusing on strategies to motivate and guide students in research and how to continue building their skills.

What Makes SEA Online Classes Special

Class Duration:

Session 1:
January 29-February 12

Session 2:
April 2-16

Class Size: 6-10 learners

Age Range: 14-18

Total Price: $60

Critical thinking, analyzation, and resource management are all essential skills for any learner.

In this quick and useful class, we’ll focus on how to research any topic accurately and efficiently using the plethora of resources available, how to identify credible sources and examine bias, and use this knowledge to dive deeply into the subjects we are passionate about.

The High School Research Bootcamp will cover and/or reinforce the basic foundation of solid research skills, and will also go into more depth on topics such as primary sources, scholarly articles and studies, expanding the scope of resources, and preparing for post-high school academic or vocational work.

This bootcamp includes two live meetings and two research assignments.

The first research assignment is presented in class while the second is given feedback and guidance either over email, or in a one-on-one meeting with the instructor.

Live meetings:

Session 1
January 29-February 12 with live meetings Fridays on January 29 and February 5 at 12pm-1pm Eastern/11am-12pm Central/10-11am Mountain/9-10am Pacific; individual meetings by February 12.

Session 2
April 2-16 with live meetings Fridays on Fridays on April 2 and April 9 at 3-4pm Eastern/2-3pm Central/1-2pm Mountain/12-1pm Pacific; individual meetings by April 16.

A computer camera and microphone, and Google Drive or Microsoft Word, will be needed.

1 hour for live session, 1-2 hours per week for out of class work

An interest in the topic and the desire to take an online Bootcamp!

Research, analysis, media literacy, documentation, critical thinking, analyzing sources, research, resource management, self-direction

Choice in assignments, individual feedback, one-on-one meetings

More Classes Like this One