Historical Thinking and Writing Bootcamp: High School

Historical Thinking and Writing Bootcamp: High School

Thinking and writing from the perspective of a historian is not just an important academic skill, but also an essential life skill. The ability to connect the past to the present and future through discussions and assignments changes the way history is seen and told.

In this Bootcamp, students will look at how historians approach research and draw conclusions, learn to examine and evaluate evidence, search for diverse perspectives, use different kinds of sources, and create meaningful essays and projects.

Required assignments will use the history they are already studying, or are interested in, as a foundation. In addition, each Bootcamp will have specific advice on skills they should work on to prepare for their next step.

For example, the High School Bootcamp will outline what will be expected in college level history classes.

What Makes SEA Online Classes Special

Class Duration:

Session 1:
January 29-February 19

Session 2:
April 2-April 23

Class Size: 5-10 learners

Age Range: 14-18

Total Price: $90

Thinking and writing from the perspective of a historian is not just an important academic skill, but also an essential life skill. The ability to connect the past to the present and future through discussions and assignments changes the way history is seen and told.

In this Bootcamp, students will look at how historians approach research and draw conclusions, learn to examine and evaluate evidence, search for diverse perspectives, use different kinds of sources, and create meaningful essays and projects.

Required assignments will use the history they are already studying, or are interested in, as a foundation. In addition, each Bootcamp will have specific advice on skills they should work on to prepare for their next step. For example, the High School Bootcamp will outline what will be expected in college level history classes.

This Bootcamp has three live sessions and three assignments. The first two assignments are discussed in class while the third is given feedback over email or in a one-on-one meeting with the instructor.

Note: The Historical Thinking and Writing Bootcamp is a perfect companion to the Research Bootcamp. While Research is mentioned in this course, it is not covered in the depth of the Research Bootcamp.

Session 1
January 19-February 19 with live meetings on the following Fridays: January 29, February 5, and February 12 from 3-4pm Eastern/2-3pm Central/1-2pm Mountain/12-1pm Pacific; individual meetings by February 19

Session 2
April 2-April 23 with live meetings on the following Fridays: April 2, April 9, and April 16 from 12-1pm Eastern/11am-12pm Central/10-11am Mountain/9-10am Pacific; individual meetings by April 23

A computer camera and microphone, and Google Docs or Microsoft Word

2-4 hours per week including live meetings per week

An interest in the topic and a desire to be in this class!

Critical thinking, historical analysis, writing, research, evaluation of evidence, and more!

Choice in assignments, individual feedback, one-on-one meeting

More Classes Like this One