Historical Thinking and Writing Bootcamp: For Parents/Guardians

Historical Thinking and Writing Bootcamp: For Parents/Guardians

Thinking and writing from the perspective of a historian is not just an important academic skill, but also an essential life skill.

The ability to connect the past to the present and future through discussions and assignments changes the way history is seen and told. In this Bootcamp, students will look at how historians approach research and draw conclusions, learn to examine and evaluate evidence, search for diverse perspectives, use different kinds of sources, and create meaningful essays and projects.

The Parent/Guardian Bootcamp will focus on facilitation and building historical thinking and writing skills with learners of any age. This Bootcamp has three live sessions and three assignments. The first two assignments are discussed in class while the third is given feedback over email or in a one-on-one meeting with the instructor.

Required assignments will use the history they are already studying, or are interested in, as a foundation.

Class Duration:

Session 1:
February 19-March 12

Session 2:
April 23-May 14

Class Size: 5-10 learners

Age Range: 14-18

Total Price: $90

Thinking and writing from the perspective of a historian is not just an important academic skill, but also an essential life skill.

The ability to connect the past to the present and future through discussions and assignments changes the way history is seen and told. In this Bootcamp, students will look at how historians approach research and draw conclusions, learn to examine and evaluate evidence, search for diverse perspectives, use different kinds of sources, and create meaningful essays and projects.

Required assignments will use the history they are already studying, or are interested in, as a foundation. In addition, each Bootcamp will have specific advice on skills they should work on to prepare for their next step.

The Parent/Guardian Bootcamp will focus on facilitation and building historical thinking and writing skills with learners of any age. This Bootcamp has three live sessions and three assignments. The first two assignments are discussed in class while the third is given feedback over email or in a one-on-one meeting with the instructor.

Note: The Historical Thinking and Writing Bootcamp is a perfect companion to the Research Bootcamp. While Research is mentioned in this course, it is not covered in the depth of the Research Bootcamp.

Session 1
February 19-March 12 with live meetings on the following Fridays: February 19, February 26, and March 5 from 3-4pm Eastern/2-3pm Central/1-2pm Mountain/12-1pm Pacific; individual meetings by March 12

Session 2
April 23-May 14 with live meetings on the following Fridays: April 23, April 30, and May 7 from 12-1pm Eastern/11am-12pm Central/10-11am Mountain/9-10am Pacific; individual meetings by May 14

A computer camera and microphone, and Google Docs or Microsoft Word

2-4 hours per week including live meetings per week

An interest in the topic and a desire to be in this class!

Critical thinking, historical analysis, writing, research, evaluation of evidence, facilitation and teaching, curriculum purchasing or development, and more!

Choice in assignments, individual feedback, one-on-one meeting

More Classes Like this One