Research Bootcamp for Parents – Spring 2021

Research Bootcamp for Parents (Spring 2021)

Critical thinking, analyzation, and resource management are all essential skills for any learner.

In this quick and useful class, we’ll focus on how to research any topic accurately and efficiently using the plethora of resources available, how to identify credible sources and examine bias, and use this knowledge to dive deeply into the subjects we are passionate about.

The Research Bootcamp for Parents covers much of the information included in the MS and HS Research Bootcamps, but from the perspective of facilitation.

We’ll be focusing on strategies to motivate and guide students in research, how to continue building their skills, and how to use your own research skills to build unit studies, projects, and more for learners of any age.

There are three Level of the Research Boot Camp

The Middle School Research Boot camp will cover the basic foundation of solid research skills as well as building the knowledge students will need for high school-level work.
The High School Research Boot camp will cover and/or reinforce the basic foundation of solid research skills, and will also go into more depth on topics such as primary sources, scholarly articles and studies, expanding the scope of resources, and preparing for post-high school academic or vocational work.
The Research Boot camp for Parents covers much of the information included in the MS and HS Research Boot camps, but from the perspective of facilitation. We’ll be focusing on strategies to motivate and guide students in research and how to continue building their skills.

Class Duration:

Session 1:
February 19-March 5

Session 2:
April 23-May 7

Class Size: 6-10 participants

Age Range: 18+

Total Price: $60

Critical thinking, analyzation, and resource management are all essential skills for any learner. In this quick and useful class, we’ll focus on how to research any topic accurately and efficiently using the plethora of resources available, how to identify credible sources and examine bias, and use this knowledge to dive deeply into the subjects we are passionate about.

The Research Bootcamp for Parents covers much of the information included in the MS and HS Research Bootcamps, but from the perspective of facilitation. We’ll be focusing on strategies to motivate and guide students in research, how to continue building their skills, and how to use your own research skills to build unit studies, projects, and more for learners of any age.

This bootcamp includes two live meetings and two research assignments.

The first research assignment is presented in class while the second is given feedback and guidance either over email, or in a one-on-one meeting with the instructor.

Session 1:
February 19-March 5 with live meetings on February 19 and February 26 at 12-1pm Eastern/11am-12pm Central/10-11am Mountain/9-10am Pacific; individual meetings by March 5

Session 2:
April 23-May 7 with live meetings on April 23 and April 30 at 3-4pm Eastern/2-3pm Central/1-2pm Mountain/12-1pm Pacific; individual meetings by May 7

A computer camera and microphone, and Google Docs or Microsoft Word

1 hour for live session, 1-3 hours per week for out of class work

An interest in the topic!

Research, analysis, media literacy, documentation, critical thinking, analyzing sources, research, resource management, self-direction, facilitation and teaching, curriculum building

Choice in assignments, individual feedback, one-on-one meetings

See this teacher’s policies on things like refunds, missing class, and behavioral expectations. (Click here to see the policies.)

More Classes Like this One